Welcome To The Indianapolis Motor Speedway!

geothumbnail10
No matter how many times I come to the Indianapolis Motor Speedway, I still feel a tingle whenever I enter the grounds. When I saw Turn One as I drove up, I felt like a little kid again.

The drive up was wet. I washed my car last night, so of course it rained…and rained. It was raining when I left Nashville and I drove in a downpour pretty much the whole way to Louisville. But as it should be – as soon as I crossed the river into Indiana, the rain stopped and the skies cleared. Now that I’m at the track, the skies are sunny and it’s just slightly cool. By qualifying this afternoon, it should be perfect.

Tomorrow should be perfect too. But I’m a little hesitant to use up our good weather on this weekend, since the cars can run in the rain for the IndyCar Grand Prix. It’s the next two weekends that we need the good weather for. We’ll keep our fingers crossed.

As I type, the Verizon IndyCar Series cars are on the track for their second practice. Will Power led the first practice and Scott Dixon was second and the only Honda in the Top-Five. Josef Newgarden and Simon Pagenaud were third and fourth respectively with Spencer Pigot rounding out the Top-Five with Ed Carpenter Racing (one of his two teams for the month of May). Graham Rahal was sixth for Honda.

Ryan Hunter-Reay brought out a red flag as he has lost power in his DHL machine. Two minutes after practice resumed, Carlos Muñoz went off and brought out another red flag, ending the practice session.

Power set the pace again, with Josef Newgarden second. Juan Montoya was third, with Alexander Rossi being the sole representative in the Top-Five for Honda. Helio Castroneves was fifth quick for the session. James Hinchcliffe was sixth quick for Honda. One surprise representation in the Top-Ten was Conor Daly, who was tenth. Remember that Daly led fourteen laps in last year’s Grand Prix. Maybe that was no fluke and this track really suits his style.

Qualifying starts at 4:20 local time. I’ll be back here after that. For now, I’m heading to the museum take advantage of the free weekend and to also seek out the classic Jumbo Tenderloin. I’ve already passed a couple of stands, but so far no luck.

As I head out, please follow me on Twitter at @Oilpressureblog. Susan will be here later this afternoon. Give her a follow at @MrsOilpressure. We’ll both be posting pictures throughout the weekend. Please check back later.

George Phillips

One Response to “Welcome To The Indianapolis Motor Speedway!”

  1. Ron Ford Says:

    Don’t forget Mother’s Day while in the gift shop. No dri-fits.

Leave a Reply

