Finally Made It To Barber

geothumbnail10
Never again will I complain about how slowly my wife moves on race weekend mornings. When we leave Nashville for Barber, I tend to target a 6:00 am departure. Susan usually makes it out the door by 6:30. In the past, I found that irritating and I usually let her know about it in some not-so-subtle ways.

As I mentioned in my earlier post this morning, Susan had some work she had to do and couldn’t get away until after lunch today. My One Take Only cohort, John McLallen, and his son were coming down for the day so it seemed like a god idea to ride with them. He asked me what time I wanted t leave. He didn’t blink when I said 6:00, so I assumed t wasn’t a rhetorical question.

At 6:30 I called and he sounded odd. I deduced by his demeanor that a death in the family had just occurred. He said he was leaving then. By about 7:15, he finally showed up. I found out that his demeanor was due to the fact that I woke him up when I called.

My 9:30 anticipated arrival ended up being 11:00. We were so late that the shuttles had stopped running from the parking lot. I normally don’t have high blood pressure, but I could feel my temples pounding the whole way down here.

Anyway, now that I’ve got that out of my system…there was one stroke of luck in all of this delay. In one of the other series running here this weekend, a crash took out the Turn Three barrier and it had t be repaired. That has shifted the schedule for the day. The Verizon IndyCar Series will practice for the first time at 11:45 local time (which is Central Daylight Time). The second practice has been moved to 3:25 this afternoon.

It is very hot here. It is already 80-degrees and it’s not even noon yet. It is sunny but there are some large puffy clouds around that look like they could possibly become active at some point in the day.

With that, Practice is about ten minutes away. I’m headed out to watch it. Susan will be here sometime mid-afternoon. I’ll try to post something here before the second practice. In the meantime, follow me on Twitter at @Oilpressureblog for photos, videos, etc.

Please check back a little later. By tge way…it’s great to be back a race track.

George Phillips

3 Responses to “Finally Made It To Barber”

  1. If John is out of the dog house, we need a ‘One Take Only’ from Barber!

  2. S0CSeven Says:

    Is pissing off your boss ever a good plan?

Leave a Reply

