Thanksgiving Wishes To All!

geothumbnail10
We are now more than two months into the IndyCar offseason. What is good about that, you might ask? It means that we are less than four months from the start of the Verizon IndyCar Series season for 2017. Better yet, on Monday we will be only six months from the 101st Running of the Indianapolis 500. Now, that’s something to be thankful for.

There are a lot of drivers that have a lot to be thankful for. Some longtime veterans like Tony Kanaan and Helio Castroneves know for a fact that they will return to their fulltime rides with two of the best teams in the paddock. Young drivers like Ed Jones, Conor Daly and Carlos Muñoz have already cemented their deals for 2017 before Thanksgiving.

The Verizon IndyCar Series has much to be thankful for as well. TV ratings are up in an era when ratings for all sports are in a rapid free fall. Although he didn’t win last night, James Hinchcliffe did IndyCar proud by coming in second on Dancing with the Stars. I know nothing about dancing, but his emotional dance Monday night that centered around his May 2015 crash was impressive, and had social media buzzing Tuesday morning. He garnered a lot of publicity for himself and the Verizon IndyCar Series.

Leadership for the series is stronger than it has been for decades – that includes CART also. I haven’t agreed with everything CEO Mark Miles has done – but it’s hard to argue with his recent results. For the first time in years, the series shows date equity and there appears to me an upsurge in interest by other tracks to have IndyCar racing in future years.

Selfishly, I have a lot of blessings to count. Once again, I’ll be celebrating Thanksgiving in the house where I grew up – most of it being cooked by my 92 year-old mother. While we kids try to take a lot of the burden off of her, I think she prefers cooking most of the meal. I’ll also be happy to be with my college sweetheart and now wife, Susan. She and I have been through thick and thin and our four and a half years of marriage have been a blast!

I’m also thankful to still be writing on this site. Never in my wildest dreams did I think I would still be doing this when I reluctantly starting blogging in May of 2009. It has led to experiences and relationships in racing that I could only dream about. I’m thankful that I still have the drive to continue this and that the site keeps growing instead of leveling off. My hope for the next year is that others will join or rejoin the IndyCar blogosphere. There are a dedicated few of us still doing it, but more voices are needed here.

So thanks to all of you; whether you’ve been here from the beginning in 2009 or you stumbled across this site recently. I’m thankful for each and every one of you. The interaction  between all of us, either on this site or in person has been a true blessing.

Susan and I would like to take this time to wish everyone a safe and Happy Thanksgiving weekend.

George and Susan Phillips

Please Note:  Since I will be travelling and don’t want to spend the Thanksgiving weekend behind a keyboard, there will be no post here on Friday Nov 25 or Monday Nov 28. I will return here on Wed Nov 30. Have a Happy Thanksgiving! – GP

9 Responses to “Thanksgiving Wishes To All!”

  1. Happy Thanksgiving George and Susan! While I don’t know you, I feel like I do from my computer. Love my first-of-the-day opening of OP to read your latest post. Many things to be thankful for in Indycar and our own lives. Best to all!

  2. My very best wishes to you and Susan and your family for a Happy Thanksgiving. Thanks for your dedication to this most excellent racing column. Please pass the gravy.

  3. Have a Blessed Thanksgiving . No post until NOV 30 ? I thought maybe you get some more drone footage posted over the holiday . Thank you for your time with the blog over the years George .

  4. Happy Thanksgiving, George and Susan. Thankful for your blog and all the racing friends I have as well.

  5. billytheskink Says:

    Have a wonderful Thanksgiving you all!

  6. Happy Thanksgiving, and thank you George, for your dedication to the blog.

  7. Happy Thanksgiving to you both!

  8. Happy Thanksgiving to all.

  9. Brian McKay Says:

    George and Susan, I thank you for blogging.

Leave a Reply

