It’s Race Day For The 2016 Indianapolis 500

geothumbnail10
Good morning from a sunny, but muggy Indianapolis Motor Speedway. With all of the warnings about heavier traffic, I made it a goal to be in the IMS Media Center by 6:30. I figured to do that, we’d have to leave our hotel at 5:30. I credit my wife for being on time – we actually walked out the door at 5:29. Traffic was light until we got to our parking lot. We were inside the lot when the opening bomb went off at 6:00 and were in the Media Center by 6:20. Not bad.

But I don’t think the warnings were unnecessary. As we were walking under the main stands along the main straightaway, this place was hopping. People were behaved, but that will be short-lived. I saw more than just a few people turning up beers at 6:00 am. They’ll probably be passed out when the green flag flies six hours later.

As I look out the window, I see people are already sitting in their stands across the track in the Paddock Penthouse seats. They are currently staring straight into the sun, but they will be in the shade when the race starts.

That brings back memories of my childhood. My father was not big on moving around the track. We were planted in our seats just after dawn and did not move until the race was over, except to go to the restroom which was another whole new adventure. Those that complain about the current restrooms on the property have no idea what preceded them.

download

I still have nightmares from walking into that caldron as a six year-old and seeing grown men with their pants around their ankles [shudder]. Somewhere deep inside my psyche, I’m probably still carrying scars from those days.

The weather report is pretty much the same as it has been for days – sunny and muggy in the morning, as clouds gather in the afternoon with a decent chance of rain late in the day. I’m not a meteorologist, but I don’t think there is much danger in getting all f this race in today.

The warm temperatures could make for an interesting day on the track. I’m not predicting a crash fest, but I don’t think there’s going to be 150 laps of green before the first caution like we had in 2014. Not that I wish bad luck on anyone, but a few cautions make things more interesting.

And I see no clear favorite. I’ve picked Helio, but there are literally fifteen or so drivers that can win today. Even though he’s starting back in Row Nine, don’t count out Graham Rahal. Lately, he seems to thrive best when starting near the back.

Anyway, Susan and I are going to go meet up with both of my brothers and soak up the atmosphere. This time tomorrow, the Month of May will be over with. We’d better enjoy it while we can.

Ssan will have a post up here in an hour or so. I may or may not be back here before the race. But I’ll definitely be back after the race for a recap. Follow us on Twitter at @Oilpressureblog and @MrsOilpressure, but with so any people on the grounds, I can’t guarantee that the tweets will be able to go out – but I’ll try.

Check back later for Susan’s post.

George Phillips

4 Responses to “It’s Race Day For The 2016 Indianapolis 500”

  1. Good morning from Charlie Browns. Just getting ready to tuck into a short stack of pancakes before we wander up Main Street to the track. Great day for a race!

  2. billytheskink Says:

    Good morning from the Southeast Vista! Here’s hoping for a safe, fun, and dry race.

  3. Ron Ford Says:

    I’m too hyped to type. Also hoping for a safe, fun, and dry race.

  4. tonelok Says:

    This is it! 100 years of awesomeness. Let’s hope for a safe day for the drivers and fans. I am thankful to hear about the unprecedented security this year. Thank you Feds. I never thought I would say that.

Leave a Reply

