Legend’s Day At IMS

geothumbnail10
There is a relatively new tradition at IMS that is becoming one of my favorite parts of Race Weekend – the running of historic cars on this iconic oval at 9:00 on the Saturday before the race. The great Donald Davidson is on the PA and pulls tidbits on many of the cars off the top of his head.

This is not just a parade. Many of them are really on the gas and it’s good to hear those offy’s roar down the front-stretch.

We went to the Burger Bash last night. This is probably not a surprise to people, but I liked the old version better. This did not have the homespun, low-key fthe previous bashes at 96th Street Steakburgers. Instead, it was a more polished production with a stage and lights. The Steak n Shake steakburgers were actually very good and the crowd was huge. But I felt more detached from the proceedings than in year’s past.

It was a good program with lots of drivers and other guests, including one of my favorites – the former Voice of the 500, Paul Page.

IMG_2550

Like I said, the crowd was huge, possibly double the size of previous years. Many of you came up and introduced your self to me. And of course, we took the obligatory selfie with our friend Paul Dalbey.

IMG_2551

IMG_2552

Not being from Indianapolis, it took us a while to figure how to get there. Our GPS took us to the general area, but we had to navigate the one-way streets for a couple of laps before finding out where it was and where we could park. We were finally flagged into a parking garage where I was glad to mercifully get out of the car. I should have kept looking. When we left a little before 10:00, I found out that it cost me $16 to park. Seriously?

Not t be negative, but if I had to make a decision for next year right this second – I may opt to pass. The inaccessibility and the loss of intimacy compared t the other location, might outweigh the good burger and the more polished production. We’ll cross tha bridge next year.

Susan will finally have her long-awaited post up here early afternoon. Then we are headed to the museum with mu brothers. In the meantime, please follow us on Twitter. Follow me at @Oilpressureblog and Susan at @MrsOilpressure.

George Phillips

2 Responses to “Legend’s Day At IMS”

  1. Will Schilling Says:

    It was great meeting you both and Paul yesterday. Hope we can touch base at the track in the morning..

  2. SkipinSC Says:

    George, don’t feel bad: I grew up there, worked downtown in my adult lifetime, and the last time I was there I was totally LOST!

Leave a Reply

