It’s Fast Friday At IMS!

geothumbnail10
Welcome to a cloudy and slightly cool Indianapolis Motor Speedway. The temperature is currently 68-degrees, but it feels a little cooler than that. I was thinking the weather was to be a little sunnier and warmer than this, but it should make for perfect conditions for speed.

For those that were wondering if I was sitting in my seat by noon, I was not. In fact, I was two hours late. Other than two hours of practice, I don’t think we missed much. There are plenty of cars out there right now. As I type, Will Power is currently on top of the speed charts at 231.476 mph.

But before you start saying you knew Chevy was sandbagging, then next four fastest are all Hondas and they are all out of the Andretti Autosport stable.  Townsend Bell is second quick at 231.061, followed by Marco Andretti, Alexander Rossi and Carlos Muñoz – all above 230 mph.

In fact, Honda makes up six of the top-ten as I type. and all of the top-ten are above 230. James Hinchcliffe is the first car under 230 and he is eleventh quick at 229.842 mph.

A look further down the chart shows that Chevy has only eight of the top-twenty – and all cars have taken the track. I’m beginning to think that Honda may actually have something for Chevy this weekend and for the race. I’m not ready to proclaim that they will nab the pole and win the race, but I don’t think they will be embarrassed this weekend and they look to be competitive.

I’ll have a wrap-up here at the end of the day after practice. We are going to scout out the concessions stands in search of that elusive tenderloin. In the meantime if you haven’t already, follow us on Twitter for photos and comments. Follow me at @Oilpressureblog and Susan at @MrsOilpressure. Check back later today after practice.

George Phillips

5 Responses to “It’s Fast Friday At IMS!”

  1. Townsend Bell has put together some terrific practice times. Same with Marco.

  2. Bob Butler Says:

    I don’t think the Chevys (particularly the Penskes) are showing their best stuff yet for fear of getting regulations changed overnight. I may be wrong but I’d be willing to bet that dollar you lost today that the Chevy teams will find an extra 2-3 mph tomorrow morning!

  3. Refresh my memory, but are they running today with the extra boost they get for qualifying?

  4. EDGAR Emmitt Says:

    You’re going to see a Penske front row.
    It’s called sandbanding.
    Wish it wasn’t so but we have come to expect it.
    Dixon may also have been laying in the weeds.

    Tell me I’m wrong. I would love Marco,RHR,Rahal on the front.
    All Honda’s

Leave a Reply

