A Unique Way To Start The Season

geothumbnail10
With the start of another season comes another episode of One Take Only. For the uninitiated, One Take Only is the videoblog of Oilpressure.com. The name comes from the fact that it is uncut, unrehearsed and unedited. We do one take. What you see is what we got.

When I first got this bad idea in 2011, I asked my friend John McLallen to join me on it. About a decade ago, John and I knew each other professionally for about two years, before either of us knew that the other was an IndyCar fan. Then one day, I happened to go to his office and saw all sorts of Mario Andretti and AJ Foyt memorabilia on his shelves. A friendship was born.

Since then, John and I became co-workers, he served as best man at my wedding and ultimately I became his boss about a year and a half ago. Some that don’t know us hear the way we go at each other and think we are sworn enemies and sometimes we are. We are diametrically opposed politically and don’t see eye to eye on a lot of things. But when it comes to racing and the month of May, we are definitely on the same page.

John is a native Hoosier, I am a native Tennessean. His first Indianapolis 500 was in 1964, mine was 1965. We both have tickets in Stand A. His tickets are about five sections closer to Turn One than mine, but I sit under the overhang.

What you see on these videos are pretty much how we spend our lunch time in the break room – talking about racing and just throwing out whatever comes into our heads.

Some hate these and some love them. We enjoy doing them occasionally, so I guess that’s all that matters. We are toying with the idea of doing one of these live on Periscope, so stay tuned for that. If you don’t like it, come back Friday when I’ll have a preview of this weekend’s Firestone Grand Prix of St. Petersburg. If you do like it, kick back and have a cup of coffee with two old coots as we discuss the upcoming season.

George Phillips

5 Responses to “A Unique Way To Start The Season”

  1. My seats are better!!!

  2. Kevin_K Says:

    I love these posts. It reminds me of the conversations I have with my good friend billytheskink, whenever we get together.

  3. Ron Ford Says:

    It was 70 degrees here in Wisconsin yesterday-perhaps due less to global warming than to political hot air-so it is no longer safe for me to go ice fishing. Thanks to George-the boss- and his trusty side-kick Johnny Mac-not the boss- I can fill my time instead listening to another episode of “One Take Only”. (Apparently the name “One Take Only” never included any implied promise that it would be) That will be followed up by a rerun of Gunsmoke and an episode of Dinners with Racers leaving just enough time to periodically check in with Curt Cavin and with Racer.com. As they are sometimes heard to say down there amongst the hoots and hollers of Tennessee, I will be busier than a long-tailed cat in a room full of rockin’ chairs. Thank you George and John.

    I miss live streaming of the races, particularly the feature whereby you could put yourself inside a car of your choice and see and hear what the driver was experiencing. Way cool. Using Audacity I recorded Danica Patrick at St. Pete going down the gears for the last turn before the long stretch along the waterfront and then going back up through the gears. I never get tired of listening to that on a loop as we attempt to shake off the winter blues before the first race.

    Let’s go racin’ boys and girls! Woo hoo!

  4. Brian McKay north of Saint Petersburg Says:

    I do NOT expect Dixon to win in Saint Petersburg. And I don’t expect Power to eke out another championship.
    Montoya and Castroneves should step aside after this season so that others can move ‘up.’

Leave a Reply

