Guess Where I’m Going Tomorrow!

geothumbnail10
After watching much of the Rolex24 at Daytona this past weekend, I’m really getting into full racing mode. The fact that it was sunny and almost seventy degrees in Nashville this weekend helped to remind me of warm days at the track. Except for this little thing coming up this weekend called the Super Bowl, my mind has really started the shift away from football to where it is completely focused on racing.

Aside from watching the Rolex24; with the pretty weather we had this past weekend I spent much of it doing some overdue chores outside. While doing so, I plugged into my iPhone and listened to several random episodes of The Talk of Gasoline Alley with Donald Davidson. I can’t think of a quicker way to get into racing mode than to listen to Donald’s anecdotes about the history of the Indianapolis 500. I have every episode for the past ten years loaded on there, so I can listen to that for a long time.

Tomorrow I will take a huge step towards completing the process of completely shifting into racing mode, as I will be attending my first IndyCar Media Day at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway. I will work a full day at work today, then hop in my car and drive directly from work to Indianapolis tonight. I’ll be staying in our new Race Day accommodations, so I’ll get a chance to evaluate the hotel also. I don’t really like May surprises.

Thank goodness the weather is cooperating. We aren’t too far removed from the eight inches of snow that Nashville received last Friday, which resulted in a paralyzed city. Some may scoff at that, but Nashville does not have the snow removal equipment that northern cities have. Such a trip would have been impossible last week. But the weather looks decent, as the high for Tuesday in Indianapolis is to be 57-degrees. I’ll enjoy listening to my Donald collection during the round trip.

The day looks to be full. There will be individual drivers available for interviews, along with press conferences with various drivers and team owners plus a press conference with IndyCar CEO Mark Miles. There will also be an update from IMS President Doug Boles on Project 100 and a preview of what fans can expect for the 100th Running of the Indianapolis 500. According to the schedule, there will also be an announcement from Honda Performance Development. I’m merely speculating, but I’m hoping that will be to announce that they have signed a long-term commitment to stay in the Verizon IndyCar Series.

The program is scheduled to start at 9:30 am and end at 5:00 pm. Prior to the beginning, I plan to visit the IMS Gift Shop and check on the available merchandise. I seriously doubt that there is anything with the new Verizon logo for IndyCar merchandise, but I’ll be curious to see the selection for this year’s Indianapolis 500 merchandise. Since this is such a landmark year, I would hope that there is a vast selection by now.

Since I’ll be losing an hour with the time change, it will probably be 9:30 or so when I roll into town tonight. It’ll probably be too late to go grab at bite at Dawson’s or any of my other favorite haunts. Even though the hotel offers a free breakfast, I’ll probably have breakfast at Charlie Brown’s tomorrow morning – just because I can. After I leave IMS tomorrow afternoon, I’ll try and eat an early dinner at Dawson’s and then stop off for a root beer at the Mug-n-Bun on my way out of town.

On Wednesday, I’ll have a follow-up report here with photos. Then hopefully, I’ll have audio soundbites and/or video clips for Friday’s post also. Susan will be traveling for her work and won’t be with me, so I’ll have to do my best to cover the lighter things also, as she does.

I’ll also be posting tweets with comments all throughout the event, along with photos from the day. You may follow me on Twitter at @Oilpressureblog. If I can figure out the nuances, I may even try a live videocast via Periscope – but don’t hold me to that one.

Those that have followed this site for a while know that interviewing is not my strong suit. I’ll be likely to get some interview time with some of the drivers, even if it’s only a question or two. If there is a unique and specific question you’d like for me to ask a certain driver; either post it here, e-mail me or send it to me via Twitter. If I get it in time, I’ll do my best to stop said driver and ask them for you.

It’ll be a full, but fun way to spend a Tuesday in February. Then it’ll be back to work on Wednesday. But after five-months of no IndyCar racing and still six weeks until the first race, is there a better way to warm up from the winter blues and to spend Groundhog Day? Maybe I can be like Bill Murray and live tomorrow over and over. I can’t think of a better place to relive a day than the Indianapolis Motor Speedway.

George Phillips

21 Responses to “Guess Where I’m Going Tomorrow!”

  1. Hello George- is media day open to the public, or just people with credentials and media? Looking forward to your pics. Glad to see you are getting a chance to get to Indy and check things out. Like you said, something to look forward to in February or a mental health day.

  2. i can’t think of a better event to attend in February. May the weather be good.

  3. Enjoy your trip. Sounds like a great way to spend part of February!

  4. what a neat opportunity, george. I look forward to hearing your thoughts on all the renovations at IMS.

  5. Really glad you get to be part of the event. Have a great time!

    • If you see Michael Andretti, please put in a good word for Simona. She is still one of the most popular drivers in the series and I hope he can find a way to run her in some races that don’t conflict with their Formula E schedule.

  6. A well deserved trip George. I imagine you will wring every last moment of enjoyment from it and then report to us. Can we expect a “One Take Only” with Mark Miles? (No offense JMc)

  7. billytheskink Says:

    Ask the drivers if it is true that Wade Cunningham’s cat escaped its enclosure a few years back and is responsible for last year’s “unexplained” disappearances from the Coke lot.

  8. Great to hear! Hopefully I’ll run into you sometime tomorrow.

  9. Have a safe trip. I know you will have fun. Your enthusiasm jumps off the page. You will be like the kid in the candy store, just on a more mature level.

  10. Carl Carson Says:

    George,

    If you’re staying in Avon stop BJ’s Brewhouse. You’ll thank me later.

  11. While I drive to work tomorrow, I’ll be imagining that I’m eating Charlie Brown’s pancakes and bacon, too. Enjoy your day in Indy, George.

  12. Way to go, George. I am jealous and can’t wait to see what you learn. Have a safe and fun trip!

  13. The last I heard William John Vukovich Jr. and his wife were living in Avon. Maybe you can meet them at BJ’s for a beer.

  14. Gregg Grahn Says:

    Hey George ,

    If you have any free time check out SIK. Speedway Indoor Karting on Main St. It’s Sarah Fisher and husband Andy O’Gara’s new venture. Schedule to open April 1.

  15. I didn’t read anything about a couple dozen Long’s doughnuts in there. Hope you don’t pass out before lunch.

  16. You might ask the series officials why Conor Daly claims he is a rookie for 2016 when he was credited with 5 starts in 2015 (and given points in 5 races) when it appears that the rule is that more than 4 starts in one season or 8 career starts disqualifies you from being a rookie in subsequent seasons.

  17. Tell us if you see Pastor Maldonado and his oil riches sniffing around……..

Leave a Reply

