Merry Christmas From Mr. & Mrs. Oilpressure

geothumbnail
It’s that time of year again to push away from the keyboard, take a short break and enjoy everything the Christmas season has to offer. I may or may not be a Clark Griswold (Susan can probably give a more definitive answer), but at my ripe old age of fifty-seven – I still enjoy Christmas. Sometimes I almost feel as if I have to apologize, but I had a very happy childhood. Looking back, my happiest childhood memories involved Christmas and the Indianapolis 500.

Once again, Susan and I get to spend part of Christmas in the home where I spent Christmas as a child. One brother will be there, and one can’t make it this year. My daughter will join us, but my son will be in Atlanta. We will also spend Christmas Eve in our own home in Nashville with my daughter, Susan’s two sons along with Pippa and Maley (the dogs).

After some newsworthy days in the first half of December, things have gone silent for now – as they should. So I will do likewise. This will be my last post here until after the New Year. So that I can relax and enjoy the holidays and the New Year’s Day bowl games (including my Tennessee Vols in the Outback Bowl), there will be no post here until I return here two weeks from today on Wednesday Jan 6th.

Susan and I want to wish everyone a very Merry Christmas along with a bountiful, prosperous and Happy New Year. We’ll see you in January.

George & Susan Phillips

12 Responses to “Merry Christmas From Mr. & Mrs. Oilpressure”

  1. Merry Christmas and Happy New Year to you and Susan and the rest of your family George..CHEERS…!!!

  2. Merry Christmas and happy New Year George and Susan and the rest of your family. Enjoy your time off. Saturday afternoon I will get to watch my school Indiana University play in the Pinstripe Bowl, the first bowl for the Hoosiers in many years, so that will be special for me.)

  3. Brian McKay Says:

    Enjoy family time.

  4. billytheskink Says:

    Merry Christmas to you and yours, George. Thank you for your continued hard work on this site.

  5. Happy Holidays, sir! See you in 2016!

  6. Here’s lookin’ at you kids. Thanks for all you do. Enjoy your family time.

  7. ‘Twas the night before Christmas, when all through the house
    Not a creature was stirring, not even a yellow shirt;
    The stockings were hung by the chimney with care
    In hopes that Santa Francesca Romana* would soon be there

    The children were nestled all snug in their beds
    While visions of Indy Cars danced in their heads
    And mamma in her ‘kerchief, and I in my Indycar cap
    Had just settled down for a long winters’ nap

    When out on the lawn their arose such a clatter,
    I sprang from the bed to see what was the matter.
    Away to the window I flew like a flash,
    Tore open the shutters and threw up the sash.

    The moon on the breast of the new fallen snow
    Gave the luster of midday to objects below
    When what to my wandering eyes should appear
    But eight Dallara Indycars with their drivers in gear

    With little ol drivers lively and quick
    I knew in a moment they must be quals quick
    More rapid than eagles their courses they came
    As we whistled and shouted and called them by name

    Go Sato, go Hinchcliffe, go Rahal, Kanaan
    On Kimbal, on Power, on Castroneves and Mann
    From the top of the stretch to the start of the curve
    Now dash-away, dash-away, dash-away all

    And then in the twinking I heard down the road
    The roaring of engines as Hondas and Chevys trode
    They waived from their cars and gave us a whistle
    And away they all flew like the down of a thistle

    So on they went, past the house they flew
    With cars full of methanol and aero kits too
    Saying St. Pete in three months, Indy in five
    Till then Happy Christmas and to all a goodnight!

    *The Patron saint of Car Drivers

    • Hi all – I hope you all are enjoying the holidays. Love your take on the traditional Christmas poem, Bob! “See” you all in the New Year.

      Thanks again, George and Susan, for all you have done for us in 2015.

  8. George & Susan,
    We will be pulling into Nashville tonight in our RV! My wife, daughter and Junior are looking forward to our stay with you! Don’t worry we will leave by Jan 6th so you can get back to your blog! Cheers!
    Cousin,
    Eddie

  9. Mike Silver Says:

    Merry Christmas George and Susan. I will be heading for Florida Saturday. Will wave to you as we pass through Nashville

  10. A very Merry Christmas to you, George and Susan. Here’s hoping you’re enjoying a great holiday with your family. See you in 2016!

  11. Merry Christmas To All….

Leave a Reply

