Happy Thanksgiving From Oilpressure.com!

GeoThumbnail
As we IndyCar fans look back on 2015, there really is a lot to be thankful for. Of course, there was also tragedy as we lost Justin Wilson to a fluke accident at Pocono in August. But we can be thankful that the IndyCar community stepped up and raised over $600,000 for the care of his young children. The efforts by Graham Rahal and several others shows the strong bond among those who are competitors on the track, but close friends off of it.

We can also be thankful that the series will be going to exciting new venues next season. While we lost races in Los Angeles, Milwaukee and New Orleans; the series gained popular races in Phoenix and Elkhart Lake, Wisconsin along with a new event in Boston.

I’m also very thankful that we can all look forward to the upcoming 100th Running of the Indianapolis 500 next May.

While the series confounds us at times, I’m more and more excited about the promotion of Jay Frye to IndyCar President. The more I hear, I’m more convinced that he is the man for the job and can help build on what he’s been handed.

This time of year is always good for reflecting. Personally, I have a lot to be thankful for. I’m coming off one of the best years I’ve had in my day job. I’m very happily married to Susan, who also happens to be my best friend. This past weekend, I attended the wedding of my nephew, Jimmy Phillips, who also happens to be a huge IndyCar fan; in South Carolina. Congrats to him and his new bride Rebecca!

But I’m most thankful that this weekend, I again have the privilege of having Thanksgiving dinner at my mother’s house – the house I grew up in. My mother is now ninety-one years old. She also went to South Carolina for the wedding last weekend, but she still has the energy to prepare tomorrow’s Thanksgiving dinner. And before I get accused of being a slug and not helping – she’s insistent on doing most of it herself (although she does allow Susan to help a little bit in the kitchen). For this, I am very grateful and I know to cherish every moment of it.

Susan and I want to wish everyone a safe and happy Thanksgiving holiday and weekend.

George Phillips

Please Note: Since I do not wish to spend the Thanksgiving weekend behind a keyboard, I am going to take my usual break from here this weekend. There will be no post here on Friday Nov 27 or Monday Nov 30. I will return here one week from today on Wednesday Dec 2. Happy Thanksgiving, everyone! – GP

8 Responses to “Happy Thanksgiving From Oilpressure.com!”

  1. We are thankful for your stalwart IndyCar blogging for several years.

  2. Thanks for you and Susan blog George…
    HAPPY THANKSGIVING. ..!!!

  3. Thankful for Oilpressure. Thankful for the 100th running of the Indianapolis 500.

    Happy Thanksgiving Susan & George & George’s Mom.

  4. Happy Thanksgiving George and Susan. Hopefully the effects of tryptophan will not linger for your beloved Titans.

  5. billytheskink Says:

    Have a wonderful Thanksgiving all, and safe travels to all who are on the road this week.

    I’m thankful to have a place such as this, to keep me engaged in Indycar year-round, with posts and comments that I about always look forward to reading.

  6. DZ-groundedeffects Says:

    Blessings and good wishes to you and yours George, and to everyone here!

  7. Patti Nolen Says:

    Happy Thanksgiving! What a blessing to be celebrating with your mom in your childhood home. Enjoy every minute.

  8. Have a terrific Thanksgiving to the gang that hangs here at Oilpressure.com and the ever fabulous One Take Only!

    John

Leave a Reply

