The Masses Have Arrived

GeoThumbnail 
Just a quick post before we head out for good. We headed to the garage area first thing and as son as we go there, it started sprinkling. Although it was enough to make us duck for cover, it lasted only a few minutes and amounted to nothing. As is usual on race morning, the tension in the garage area was palpable. This picture was taken around 8:00. Not long after that, the place became packed and there was a flurry of activity along with the occasional engine firing up. I love the smell of ethanol in the morning.

IMG_1843

We saw the cars lining up for final technical inspection. We noticed a special “Get Well” message on the cowling of James Hinchcliffe’s car, being driven today by Ryan Briscoe. You can’t help but pull for Briscoe as he will be making his way from the last row.

IMG_1845

The massive Race Day crowd has arrived. What was a pleasantly busy Pagoda Plaza, has become a mass of humanity. They have now put out the red carpet for the celebrities that are attending the race today. Who is on it? I have no idea, nor do I really care.

IMG_0117

IMG_0118
This is going to do it for this morning. Susan and I are about to head out to the pits to soak it all in. That’s another Race Day ritual I do. I walk from one end of the pits to the other. As I walk, I think back to all the action that has taken place under my feet for more than a century. It’s all part of the mystique of this place.

I’ll be back here with a post after the race. In them meantime, Susan and I will be tweeting some from our seats. Please follow us on Twitter  at @Oilpressureblog and @MrsOilpressure.

Enjoy the race, everyone!

George Phillips

2 Responses to “The Masses Have Arrived”

  1. Bent Wickerbill Says:

    I envy you and Susan, yet at the same time I do not … Have a great race day George, we will be BBQing in brother Bills backyard and enjoying the race via 55 inch flat screen…

  2. Brian McKay Says:

    Have a safe day in the Speedway and on the roads afterward, George and Susan.

Leave a Reply

