Fast Friday Wrap-Up

GeoThumbnail
Well, Fast Friday ended up being uneventful, and I don’t mind that. There was a stiff breeze for most of the day and that probably held the speeds down. Fortunately, the cars were held down also. For the first time since Tuesday, no cars went airborne today. In fact, there were no incidents at all. There were six yellows the entire day – all for track inspection.

Simon Pagenaud was quickest at 230.698 mph. Scott Dixon was second quick at 230.655. Altogether, there were six cars over 230 mph. Tony Kanaan was third and marco Andretti was the fastest Honda of the day at 230.312. Will Power was fifth, followed by Sage Karam, Gabby Chaves Helio Castroneves, Takuma Sato and Juan Montoya rounding out the Top-Ten. Altogether, there were three Hondas in the Top-Ten.

Pippa Mann came out at the very end of the day and ran a total of four laps, with a best of 225.457.They were her first laps in the car since her violent crash on Wednesday afternoon. Buddy Lazier ran a total of eight laps and was thrity-fourth quickest at 216.103.

The entire Lazier program seems derailed this year. I happened to see Buddy Lazier in the garage area this morning. A fan asked him for an autograph. Rather than taking five seconds to sign it, he spent about sixty seconds explaining to the fan that if he signed his, a crowd would gather and then he would be signing a bunch of them. It seems to me that a driver of his age that has been struggling to be relevant, would be happy that fans would still want his autograph. Granted, he is an Indianapolis 500 winner, but his win was almost twenty years ago. I won’t pretend to know what was going on with Buddy at the time, but it seems to me that he could have created a lot more good will by taking five seconds to sign the autograph, rather than taking ten times longer to go off on his diatribe…but what do I know?

Anyway, it was a fun day at the track. The breeze that kept the speeds down, felt good with the heat. I think it ended up getting to around 85-degrees today. It is supposed to be cloudy and around 77 tomorrow. If the winds die down, that could mean a significant increase in speed. But I still maintain that the pole speed will be in the 232 range. We’ll see. Qualifying will be interesting.

We plan on being at the track early tomorrow. Please check in early and often. Thanks for following along today.

George Phillips

11 Responses to “Fast Friday Wrap-Up”

  1. George, I’m glad you printed your observation of Lazier. I saw him do the same song and dance with some fans in the Garages a couple of times last year. Drivers who act like that should be called out for being so boorish. Don’t they get it?

  2. Patrick Says:

    I also saw Buddy turn down an autograph request today. He seemed stressed out and probably with good reason. He appears to be 34th fastest unless things change.

    • Patrick Says:

      George, I saw you in the garage area but was too far away to introduce myself. Maybe someday….Thanks for all the time and effort you put into this site.

  3. tonelok Says:

    Thanks George. I was disappointed to hear your story about Buddy. I totally agree with you. What would it have hurt to just sign the autograph smile and carry on with his day. That just seems odd. Maybe he was frustrated or something but that is no way to treat his fans. I know Buddy. When I was a kid our families used to get together on their boat in Utah for about a week. We went for a few years and it was really fun for my brother and I because they had lots of toys for the lake. I never really saw Buddy much because he was always out on a jet ski or driving their speedboat but our families had a lot of fun getting together. My brother was friends with his brother Jacques. I was more like an acquaintance to Buddy since I was younger than him. I have followed his carreer over the years and dropped in on him at different race tracks. One year, in 1989 I think it was I was at Indy with a good friend of mine in the infield and I saw his Dad Bob and yelled his name. He saw me, his face lit up and he said “meet me at the gate!” We did and he let us into the garage area and I talked to Buddy for a few minutes. He had crashed in practice and was running on a budget and did not have a good qualifying engine and did not make the field that year. Boy how times have changed. Buddy has always been my personal connection to Indy and have always gotten a kick out of telling people I know a guy who won the Indy 500. I have always been interested in how he is doing. Thanks for the story.

    Oh, also- I agree with you about raising the boost for the next 3 days and not the race. Either do it for the Indy 500 as well or don’t do it at all.

  4. Thanks for the updates George and I enjoyed talking with Phil Kaiser. As for today, I think we will see the cars get straightened out and our Top 9 will be pretty strong.

    • By the way, it is my thinking that Buddy Lazier wouldn’t drum up much of a crowd if he signed an autograph. It’s not like he is Hinch, RHR, TK, Dixon, Helio, Pippa or Will Power.

    • I forgot Graham Rahal! He signs!

  5. billytheskink Says:

    While this was many years ago, Buddy Lazier was one of the friendliest drivers I ever encountered. Granted, it was in an autograph line, but he also had just spent 7 minutes patiently listening to a fan who was trying to sell him spark plugs (seriously).

    Poor form by him today, even though he was undoubtedly having a rough day. Hope he finds the speed to make things interesting.

Leave a Reply

