It Has Been Way Too Long

SScruggs
By Susan Phillips

I am so happy to be here in NOLA! One root canal, a crown (seriously, for the price, it should be visible), and a week spent helping keep up with the baked good needs of the Mule Week crowd in Columbia, Tennessee, I am definitely ready for our racing season to begin.

We made it to NOLA just in time for the rain to start. I have not seen much of the track yet, but what I have seen is wet (should have re-thought those rain boots). Tomorrow will be better–my ATT phone has no service but my Verizon work phone is four-bars-plus. I was a little worried as we began our trip, as George was not feeling well. The only thing worse than feeling sick on race day is to be in NOLA and have to be careful about what you eat. I was not kidding when I said I was going to have to go into food-training just to keep up. When we woke up this morning to begin the second leg of our trip, he felt fine.

Right now we are waiting for practice to begin. I’m hoping the track dries off enough to smell the fumes of ethanol again. It has been way too long.

One Response to “It Has Been Way Too Long”

  1. I know the feeling of it being way too long since smelling methanol or seeing race cars. Can’t wait for Barber. In the meantime, I hope you and George are enjoying yourselves in NOLA!

Leave a Reply

