Which Aero Kit Won The Eye Test?

geothumbnail10
Last month, Chevrolet fired the first salvo in the battle of the new aero kits for the Verizon IndyCar Series. In my opinion, it landed with a giant thud. As I wrote the following day; the reactions by most ranged from loving it to hating it. My reaction to the Chevy was basically “This is what we waited all this time to see?”

I thought the Chevy looked like the regular DW12 with a few winglets glued on in odd places, with a new boxy rear-bumper.

Chevy kit

We had heard through the grapevine that one of the kits was much more radical than the other. After the letdown of seeing a Chevy, it was natural to assume that it would be the Honda that would be radical – but I still wasn’t sure. Those that liked the Chevy kit surmised that there was only so much they could do, given the limitations of the rulebook. They said only a foolish optimist would expect the Honda to look much different than what Chevy offered.

My hope was dimmed over the last couple of weeks, but not extinguished. The little kid inside of me still hoped against hope that Honda would come up with something radically different. I didn’t even care if it looked good, there’s only so much you can do when trying to make a DW12 good-looking. I just wanted to be able to tell a difference in the two cars from a distance. Hopefully, it would be dramatic enough so that even the most casual fan could tell the difference, but I knew not to set my sights too high.

Monday night, almost three weeks after Chevy showed us their aero kit – Honda unveiled theirs. My reaction? Overall, I like it. Is it the most beautiful car I’ve ever seen? Far from it.

Honda-IndyCar-aero-kit-101-876x535

Honda-IndyCar-aero-kit-102-876x535

Honda-IndyCar-aero-kit-103-876x535

Honda-IndyCar-aero-kit-104-876x535

First the negative – Although it was within the rules to do so, I was disappointed that neither manufacturer saw fit to get rid of the airbox over the driver’s head. I’ve had people explain to me that the roll-hoop is encased in there. I realize that, but they could have still done away with it and have the roll-hoop similar to what CART had in the nineties. That would have made for a car much sleeker in appearance.

In that regard, the Chevy kit actually looks better. They at least cleaned up the back of the engine cowling as it tapers from the airbox. The Honda treatment looks bulky and very angular. Worst yet, they added a nineties-style dorsal fin onto the back of it.

Aside from a few attempts in the fifties, the first time we saw dorsal fins appear on cars was when Marlboro Team Penske debuted fins on their three cars as Emerson Fittipaldi and Al Unser, Jr. covered the field in the second race of the 1994 season at Phoenix. By the time the month of May rolled around, practically every team in the paddock was sporting varying sizes of dorsal fins on their cars. The logic was that they offered lateral stability in turns. Skeptics claimed they were nothing more than another place to put sponsor’s logos. The unsightly fins became a mainstay in CART through the remainder of the decade on most cars.

VilleneuevePhoenix95

1998Dayafter-5218_zps1b9765bc

By 1998, the IRL cars sprouted dorsal wings from the back of their bulbous airboxes and it made for an even more unattractive look. Being blocked by the giant airbox, it was hard to see how they served any purpose at all. By 2000, the fins suddenly and mercifully disappeared from the cars in both series.

But Honda has resurrected the dorsal fin to some extent. I never liked the look in the nineties, and I don’t like it now. On the positive side – that’s the most negative thing I can say about the Honda aero kit, if that makes any sense.

But I can say a lot of things positive about the approach Honda took, compared to the Chevy kit. As I said earlier, the Chevy kit looks like the basic DW12 with some winglets placed in very curious spots all over the car. This was more what I was looking for. Honda looks like they started from scratch to redesign everything they could within the rules. The Honda looks unconventional, yet much sleeker than the Chevy version. And yes, I would call this radical – at least, as radical as the rules would allow.

Please keep I mind – I am not an engineer nor do I pretend to know anything about aerodynamics. I am going strictly on looks. The Chevy may run circles around the Honda on the track, but the Honda sure looks racier when sitting still.

I thought that Honda was smarter in their presentation of the new kits, as well. Both manufacturers presented computer-generated models; but Honda’s was trimmed in light gray, allowing all of the new aero pieces to be very visible. It seemed that Chevy hid all their new pieces in dark blue, making them very hard to see. Honda did something else that was smart – they also had Ryan Hunter-Reay’s real car in actual livery for us to see how the car would look on track.

RHR

11063928_10205455289852907_8165361186569373483_n

As far as I know, no one has seen a Chevy aero kit in actual livery. That might help to show us how it will look. Meanwhile, we are left with an imaginary Chevy car trimmed in dark blue Chevy livery that we will never see on track.

Neither car will ever be called classically beautiful race cars by anyone. Both manufacturers have added excessive bulk to what was already an ugly rear-end of a car. The multiple layers of front wings on the Honda are interesting and look like they could produce enough downforce to flatten the tires. It looks like the Honda will be glued to the turns of road and street courses, but may be a hindrance on a straightaway. But then, isn’t that the give and take that every race engineer faces? I’m assuming that teams will have the ability to tinker with these levels. How much, I’m not sure.

The wing layers created a lot of funny comments on social media. There were remarks that it should be sponsored by the Gillett Mach 5, Lafayette Venetian Blinds or Ronco’s Veg-O-Matic. Those blessed with photoshop skills also had a field day; and there was much speculation as to where Honda got their inspiration.

11043130_10206244852388633_8240148443266502495_n

12f4c9fce9010bb4d543bf8efb7d2d0a-orig

Selfishly, I got my wish. How anyone couldn’t tell the difference between these two cars is beyond me, but I know there are many that won’t. So long as they have four wheels, wings and an open cockpit – some people simply won’t be able to tell them apart. But we will, and that’s what counts. I’m tired of doing everything in the name of nabbing the casual fan. Every now and then, the series needs to try and please the hard-core fans. They are the ones that have been sustaining it during these lean years. The aero kits serve that purpose.

Honda-Chevy

So the next task is to see how each kit performs on the track. After all, a beautiful race car that can’t perform is about as ugly as they come. Some teams will be at NOLA this weekend before everyone heads to Barber for open testing next week. Will sandbagging occur? Probably, to some extent. But I also think we’ll at least get some idea about which manufacturer nailed it and which one will be left scratching their head in a couple of weeks at St. Petersburg. But for now, I’d say Honda won the first round – the unveiling.

George Phillips

21 Responses to “Which Aero Kit Won The Eye Test?”

  1. Brian McKay in sunny Florida Says:

    I expect MANY parts to be snapped off in contretemps on road courses and city-street course concrete canyons. Many laps of full-course caution to allow for sweep-ups…

    • That carbon fiber is a lot stronger than you think. A lot of drivers said the last Dallara nose was almost too strong.

  2. they will be distinct from one another on the track. they got people talking. now we’ll see how they run. pretty good deal.

  3. That Honda is butt ugly, not much else to say about it. All those twitter comments you mention seem to apply. (Venetian blinds, Gillette Mach 5, etc). I guess beauty is in the eye of the beholder, and so far, I am in the minority. So be it.

  4. Jim Peabody, Colorado Springs Says:

    Much ado about nothing. Big disappointment.

  5. “After all, a beautiful race car that can’t perform is about as ugly as they come.”

    Could NOT agree more!! I’m pulling for Honda due to my team/driver allegiances, but as long as there is still good racing, I’ll be happy.

  6. I never liked the car and the aero kits don’t help the appearance. Performance is still an unknown. i think the biggest issue will be producing enough replacement parts and having enough dumpsters at the tracks to hold the broken parts. The upside is that there will be an abundance of carbon fiber souvenirs for the fans to collect post race.

  7. _alanstewart Says:

    I would have liked to have voted on Option C (and perhaps others would have liked Option D).

    C) I like elements of both
    D) I think both need to go back to the drawing board

    I like the nose of the Honda and I like the rear of the Chevy.

  8. The Honda Aero Kit is definitely extreme looking. I guess I like the Chevy better as its not so extreme looking. But neither helps an unattractive car look any better.

    However what really matters is if they help the performance of the car. Will be fun to see.

    I do wonder, as many have posted, how well these will stay attached to the cars at high speed or on a congested road course.

  9. Jack in Virginia Says:

    It’ll be interesting to see which is faster on the track. The Honda looks very draggy to me (looks like the triple slotted flaps on a 747, which are only deployed when you want high lift AND high drag). Frankly I think they’re both just lipstick on a pig. I yearn for the days when teams could run any chassis they chose

  10. billytheskink Says:

    Looking back, I believe it was rumored that Honda first tested their aerokit at Kitty Hawk…

    These aerokits may be the first race cars to both be called “pigs” AND set track records.

  11. They look…. different. Lots of aero pieces on both. I don’t think either one looks that bad with the DW-12 as the baseline setting, but neither looks good (think Swift concepts). I just hope there’s close racing, and not 5 Honda’s or Chevy’s lapping the field, especially at Indy. Although, I guess that’s one way to go back to the 1970’s….

  12. The good news: the aerokits got people talking about IndyCar and help accentuate the difference between IndyCar and other forms of racing. Difference is good. It’s also good that there will be differences in appearance between cars and that the bulgy bits of the Dallara kit are gone so the cars no longer look like Lady Bugs from overhead. Also, it shows that Honda and Chevy cared enough to invest the time and money into making these. Kudos to Honda for trying something a little more out there. Given the areas that were open to tweaking, this is what you can expect. Far better than nothing. Do we have super-speedway configurations, or is that’s what’s pictured?

    • billytheskink Says:

      The superspeedway configurations have not been revealed, to my knowledge. However, in the video Honda made for their unveiling, there is a fairly brief clip of the car testing in what appears to be a superspeedway kit.

      Photo from Trackforum

      The apparent superspeedway kit in the Honda video largely follows the form of the current superspeedway kit, with Honda’s just-revealed cowling fin and sidepods obviously. The biggest difference appears to be in the rear wing. While still tucked up between the rear wheel pods like last year’s car, the rear wing appears to sit higher and has its own small endplates. It also appears that the wing is attached from its top, using the faucet-style supports seen on most of the Le Mans prototypes nowadays.

      • Hit pause on the video and you can see a lot. The clips are just too fast. Honda has a swan neck (I think that is what they are called) rear wing. They really stepped up and got crazy. I commend them for that.

        • billytheskink Says:

          “Swan neck” surely sounds better than “faucet”, though I might use the latter term if pitching Indy 500 sponsorship to Buddy Lazier’s former backer.

  13. What were people expecting? We have all seen F1 designs. We have a lot of wings and winglets. The cars look good. I fear that if the Honda is much better than the Chevy, Hunter-Reay will run away with the championship. A superior Chevy gives us a six way fight for the championship between the Penske 4 and the big two from Ganassi. Much more exciting.

    Lastly, I love the look of dorsal fins!

  14. A fella named Ferrari said: “Aerodynamics is for people who can’t build engines”. I would have liked to have seen the aerokit development money spent on more horsepower and/or brand promotion.

    Both designs met my expectations. I had no expectations. From the front both cars look like that annoying robot-like thing that prances around on NFL broadcasts. I much prefer the Indy Lights car.

    I appreciate the time, money, and expertise that both Chevy and Honda put into this effort. There would not be much of a IndyCar series without them, if any. Still………………

    Santa brought a pair of socks.

    • At least Santa didn’t bring a lump of coal.

      Can’t wait for St. Pete’s. (Let’s see how the Venetian blinds run). I may root for a couple of Chevy power drivers, but I do hope Honda can do better overall this year.

Leave a Reply

