Merry Christmas From The Oilpressures

geothumbnail10
On this Christmas Eve, it’s hard to believe that we are wrapping up another year at Oilpressure.com. When I say “we”, I’m not being the pretentious blogger that tries to act like there is a whole war room of writers, photographers and editors. It’s just me and my wife Susan; along with my One Take Only cohort and good friend, John McLallen, who also served as my Best Man when Susan and I got married at IMS in May of 2012.

Susan was a newbie when she attended her first Indianapolis 500 in 2004, but she has caught on quickly. She may not get into the history and tradition of IMS like I do, but she loves going each and every May. The place is now in her blood as much as mine.

When I started this site in May of 2009, I had no idea I would still be doing this heading into 2015. But I’ve made a lot of new friends here over the years, many of which I have met at race tracks and struck up friendships that go beyond beyond racing. Some, I’m still hoping to meet one day (ahem – Ron Ford). This has been a great experience and one I look forward to continuing for at least another year or two. I would also like to acknowledge our good friend Pressdog, who announced just yesterday that he is shutting down his site. I’ve always considered Bill to be the Dean of the IndyCar bloggers, and his absence will be felt in the blogosphere. We wish him the best of luck in his "retirement".

I wanted to take this time to thank everyone who has stopped by here over the years to read some of my rants and ramblings – especially those who take the time and trouble to comment. I also appreciate the civility that goes on here, even when there are disagreements.

As usual, I will be taking time off from here over the holidays. This will be my last post of 2014. I will return on Monday January 5, 2015. Until then, I want to share with you a Christmas card that Susan created (with apologies to our friends at The Indy Racing Experience). Click on it to see it better.

oilpressure christmas

Susan and I hope that each and every one of you have a Merry Christmas, a safe and Happy New Year as we look forward to an even better season in the Verizon IndyCar Series for 2015. We’ll see you in January as we start counting down to the Brazil race on March 8th.

Merry Christmas!

Susan & George Phillips

11 Responses to “Merry Christmas From The Oilpressures”

  1. Thanks for all your hard work on the blog. Merry Christmas to you and all the race fans out there.

  2. Merry Christmas to both of you, George. I always look for ward to reading your column.

  3. Mike Silver Says:

    Merry Christmas, George and Susan. Thanks for for all your hard work. Hope to see you at more races this year.

  4. Merry Christmas to all!
    John

  5. billytheskink Says:

    Merry Christmas to you and yours George and Susan. Thanks for giving all of us Indycar fans the gift of this site, and the work and dedication that goes along with it.

  6. Merry Christmas George and Susan!. Merry Christmas also to all your readers and contributors who make this site interesting and enjoyable.

  7. Thank you George and Susan. Marry Christmas and a wonderful 2015 to you.
    And please keep writing. Each time another blogger adds a -30- I feel like I have lost another friend.

  8. What a great Christmas card, Susan. My very best to you both. Thanks for your postings. I actually look forward to Monday mornings and your column. I want to echo Mark’s encouragement to keep writing.

    Happy holidays to one and all.

  9. Brian McKay - reader #14 Says:

    Enjoy a blessed holy day and new year. Thanks for steadily blogging for our entertainment.

  10. it’s going to be a couple of interesting years coming up, George, for both Indycar and Indy Lights. so make sure you keep up the good work, I do look forward to reading the thoughts of you and your followers. happy new year to the Oilpressures.

  11. I forgot to actually post this earlier, so better late than never… Anyway, Merry Christmas and Happy New Year to George, Susan, and all the rest of the Oilpressure family. Here’s to a great 2014 and an even better 2015. See you all at the track.

Leave a Reply

