Race Day Preparation

SScruggs

By Susan Phillips

As we wait out this long weather delay at Barber Motorsports Park, I thought I’d chime in with something useful for future race-goers. This one’s more for the women who read Oilpressure, but I will assume some guys will find it helpful.

I was really not prepared for our trip to the Honda Grand Prix of Alabama, even though it was later than usual in the schedule. Just coming off what I call an “eating holiday” at work, where it gets insane–yes, people actually fight over cake. I was too tired In the evenings to start pulling things together for a trip.

First, I thought of how pasty white my complexion has become from the long winter. I quickly grabbed on of my Groupons for a spray tan. I headed to the tanning place and listened (or so I thought–to the instructions, she said it talks you through the process). I am severely directionally challenged, so when it said face the front of the booth first, I didn’t realize that THEIR front was different to what MY front was. Needless to say, I have the most tanned under forearms ever! Nothing I can do about that now. It is lovely.

Now it is time to grab my “necessities”–who does not spend about $50 in the travel sample section of Target? I solved the problem somewhat by having a little transparent bag filled with travel size items. Since I am a Sephora addict, I have plenty of little packets from there also. The problem is checking which items are empty from the last trip–I will get organized for that someday.

photo 1

This little pouch from Pinch Provision is probably the best thing they have ever made for women (I hear they have a men’s version also). It has everything from earring backs to breath freshener–all in a 3.5 inch zippered case.

photo 2

I have my son’s old case from when he wore that retainer for a few days– and that is my race day jewelry box! I keep my Wing & Wheel earrings and my prized little IndyCar’s that I save for race day in there. Why I have not lost those tiny little cars after 8 years I will never know, same with my checkered-flag sunglasses.

photo 4

photo 3

Of course, I have my “medicine cabinet,” which contains all sorts of remedies for any malady you may get. Don’t ask about my stuffed shrimp experience a few years ago during qualifying weekend. It was not pretty. Echinacea is a must for me, as you never know when your immune system needs a boost!

Then come clothes. Race weekends are very unpredictable, weather-wise. At Indy our seats used to be behind pit road, so after many years of near-heatstroke, we moved across the track into the shade. I didn’t expect to be wearing a hoodie all weekend last year, but I am glad I brought one. The ones in the gift shop have a tendency to be a bit pricey and I have several, so I may have reached critical mass on those. So I bring the gamut of clothing for a day at the beach or the frozen tundra.

I also make a road trip snack bag, filled with provisions for eating on the road. I know this comes as a big surprise to you, but George does not like to stop once we are on our way to our destination. A must-have for me are Starbucks Via Refreshers. They are made with green coffee extract and Stevia, just a quick pour of the packet into bottled water and you’re set. I love the Valencia Orange flavor.

Another must-have is my sewing kit for sewing on those patches we get at the track. Oilpressure is no fan of dri-fit, so we come armed with 100% cotton polos for a quick sew-on of this year’s race logo.

Last but not least, I must pack my Oilpressure logo-wear. Publicity is a must for us when we go to a race. I am still amazed at how many people recognize George.

I hope you don’t mind my little foray off topic this race weekend, but part of a successful race weekend is being prepared. So if you see me walking around the race grounds, feel free to hit me up for a needle and thread or a bandaid for your blisters. I probably have it in my bag.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 104 other followers

