People & Places I Love

Susan
By Susan Phillips

Much has happened in the world of IndyCar and in our own lives since I posted anything here. Last week was a milestone for me as it marked the one year anniversary since I lost my job. I have to say I was busier looking for a job than actually having a job. Last October, I took a job at a major grocery store chain in the Southeast as a cake decorator.

It sounds like a fun job, but it is pretty fast-paced and high pressure—people are serious about cake. I began thinking about the “sacredness” of cake and the memories that cake provide. What food is more photographed than cake? How many of us have photo albums (yes, way back when photos were printed) of ourselves sitting behind a cake getting ready to blow out the candles? Cakes live on in family tradition–we who decorate cakes are creating family memories. That is how I have decided to look at this new turn my life has taken.

It has been a busy year—we went to three races this year (Barber, Indy, and Fontana) and I realized I never posted my own memories of Fontana and Indy. We have met so many great people who work in front of the scenes and behind the scenes. We got to do things this year that people only dream about. It has been an honor to know our friends from IndyCar, a few of which have left the sport since we last saw them in Fontana – most noticeably, Amy Konrath and Monica Hilton. We will certainly miss seeing them this spring at Barber and Indy. So in this mid-offseason time, here are some memories of some of the people we’ve grown to know from Barber, Indy and Fontana (as well as a few gratuitous pics of my husband) to sustain you for the next 2 months before the green flag flies once again. Captions have been eliminated to protect the unidentified.

What a year it was! Can racing season be that far off?

IMG_0958

IMG_1079

IMG_1056

IMG_0951

IMG_1093

IMG_1119

IMG_1124

Iindy sign

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Idavid

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Imeesh

Iphillips

Ibloggers

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Iandy

Itim

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Fsigning

Fwhite flag

Fsuit

Bpippa

BIMG_4263

Bhelio

5 Responses to “People & Places I Love”

  1. What fun, Susan!! I wish you had identified some of the people though.

  2. Mike Silver Says:

    It was great meeting at you at fontana, Susan. Hope to see you guys at Indy. (Barber is iffy right now)

  3. The names gave been changed to protect the guil…innocent. Although some skeevy looking guy keeps showing up in the pics….

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 107 other followers

