It’s Race Day At IMS!

GeoThumbnail
On May 1st, I compared the Month of May to the Christmas season. Well, if that’s the case – today is Christmas morning. As you read this, I’m actually fighting my was through the melee of traffic. Our hotel is only 3.3 miles from IMS, but it will probably take us over an hour to navigate the sea of humanity and cars. Race morning is one of the few pklaces where drunks are common at 6;00 am. I’m convinced that many of the people we’ll see partying outside the track will never darken the gates of IMS – they’re just here for the atmosphere.

We plan on leaving the hotel around 6:00. hopefully, we’ll be inside the gates by 7:00. Our first stop will be the Media Center where I plan to put up a post as soon as we get there. The big question on everyone’s mind is the weather. It’s cool here and the closer we’ve gotten to Race Day, the more they have upped the forecast for rain. I did hear a report yesterday that they are expecting a shower to roll through about an hour before the green flag. Let’s hope that’s not the case, and it will hold off until late afternoon.

I’ll post here throughout the day except during the race. If there is a rain delay, I’ll make my way to the Media Center and post. But for instant updates, follow me on Twitter at @Oilpressureblog and Susan at @chiapet58. Check back a little later this morning for the first update.

George Phillips

3 Responses to “It’s Race Day At IMS!”

  1. Happy Race day George!!! Depression soon to follow.

  2. Have a great day, George. Hope to see you at The Track later.

  3. madtad1 Says:

    Have a tenderloin for me!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 108 other followers

