Rain At IMS – It’s May!

GeoThumbnail
If you follow this sport for very long, you learn to understand that rain is as much a part of the Month of May as The Gordon Pipers and a breaded tenderloin sandwich. Not long after my last post, I went wandering the garage area when the scattered sprinkles turned to a shower. I ducked into one of the hallways for the restrooms in one of the garage buildings. Unfortunately, so did everyone else. It was steamy and crowded. Worst of all, there was no phone service. The rain lasted longer than I expected – of course, I didn’t think it would rain at all.

To use a track term – the track was “lost”. As I type, they have the jet-dryers out and the latest estimate is that the green flag will fly for qualifying between 1:30 and 1:45. That’s assuming, of course, that no more rain falls. Some sun came out for a little while, but it is overcast again – although the skies don’t look that threatening. Then again, I’ve already proven I am no weatherman.

Sunshine

Speaking of the Gordon Pipers, it always let’s you know what time of year it is to see them roaming throughout The Speedway. I was able to snap this quick shot with my phone before they moved on.

Pipers
I made a quick run past the Dale Coyne garage. It’s good to see the sign over the garage with Pippa Mann’s name over one of the garage bays. It was also good to find Justin Wilson and Pippa Mann out holding court with fans. This is why they are fan-favorites. I saw no sign of Ana Beatriz.

Sign
Pippa
Justin
So it’s about 1:00 and the skies are getting brighter. It looks like qualifying will at least start here shortly. There is no word yet on whether or not the Fast Nine Shootout format has been scrapped or not. Personally, it wouldn’t bother me if they did, but that’s the purist in me coming out. One attempt for each driver would suit me just fine. But if they keep it for the day, that’s fine too.

Anyway, I’m going to help myself to some free Media Center lunch and head back out. Check back later and/or follow me on Twitter at @Oilpressureblog.

George Phillips

Update:  Just as i was about to head out, they just announced that time has been extended and the Fast Nine will take place at 6:30, assuming there is no more rain. Stay tuned.

One Response to “Rain At IMS – It’s May!”

  1. Steve K Says:

    Any word on IMS ditching the jet dryers and going with the system NASCAR just used at Talladega?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 108 other followers

