A Very Special Day

GeoThumbnail
Today is Pole Day for the Indianapolis 500. It’s a special day, not only for fans of the Indianapolis 500 – but for me, personally. You see, it was a year ago today that Susan and I were married at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway. We were married in one of the suites over the Formula One garages after the track had closed for Fast Friday on May 18, 2012.

50
82

It’s hard to believe it has been a year. There has been a lot of “life’s happenings” in that time. I moved last June and Susan lost her job in January. Since we knew each other so well, there have not been a lot of marriage adjustments. In fact, I would say it has been a very successful and happy first year of marriage.

The only problem is that as I wake up here in Indianapolis – I am alone. Susan stayed behind in Nashville for her son’s graduation. Before another barrage of comments about me being a bad step-father hit – not only do I have Susan’s blessings to be here instead of there, she encouraged me to come. Not only because I really want to be here, but it would be a sticky situation being there with her ex-husband and ex-in-laws – a situation I did not really want to embrace.

But don’t fret – Susan is flying up tonight so that we can celebrate our first anniversary together. She will also be at the track with me all day tomorrow before we drive back to Nashville together tomorrow night.

So, Susan – Happy Anniversary and I will see you tonight.

In the meantime, there is a full day at the track today. I will be at the track early, so check back here early and often.

George Phillips

5 Responses to “A Very Special Day”

  1. Bent Wickerbill Says:

    Congrats to you and Susan George… Looking forward to your updates…

  2. Donald and Laurie McElvain Says:

    We are happy for you and Susan’s 1st anniversary!!

  3. Steve K Says:

    Hear, hear!

  4. Happy anniversary to you and Susan.

  5. What i do not realize is in reality how you are no longer actually much more smartly-preferred than you
    might be right now. You are very intelligent. You know
    thus significantly when it comes to this subject, made
    me in my view imagine it from numerous various angles. Its like men
    and women aren’t involved unless it’s something to accomplish with
    Girl gaga! Your personal stuffs excellent. Always care for it up!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 103 other followers

