Welcome To Fast Friday!

geothumbnail10
Welcome to Fast Friday! I would normally follow that with “From IMS” but I’m not at the track yet. After arriving around 10:00 last night, I am beginning to stir in my hotel not far from the track. This is the same hotel where we’ll be staying next week for race weekend. I’ve never stayed here before. I won’t go so far as to say it’s the finest hotel I’ve ever stayed in; but it’s clean, they have wi-fi and they provide a hot breakfast for free. Above all else, the location is great.

Me being the glutton I am, I’m going to take advantage of the free hotel breakfast before heading to Charlie Brown’s in Speedway for pancakes. The gates don’t open until 10:00 this morning and as usual for practice – cars aren’t allowed on-track until noon.

I’m looking forward to Fast Friday. Practice is always very enjoyable. There is no better way to spend a day away from work than just sitting at IMS and watch cars go by. Your mind can wander to decades past and you can visualize drivers from the past one hundred years going down the very same stretch of track that is sitting in front of you at that moment It’s therapeutic for the soul.

Once I get ensconced in the Media Center, I’ll be posting occasionally throughout the day – with any news and definitely some pics. Also – don’t forget to follow me on Twitter at @Oilpressureblog. I’ll be posting pictures and tweets all day from there as well.

Check back often today and throughout the entire weekend.

George Phillips

3 Responses to “Welcome To Fast Friday!”

  1. Bent Wickerbill Says:

    I envy you George, I just returned from a hellish three day business trip through the mid-west and I just looked at the clock to see if I jumped on a plane here in Orlando that I might be able to get to Indy in time for practice. I could indeed, but Of course I must go in to the office today to try and catch up with all the other things that have been piling up while I was gone.
    Have a great weekend George, we are looking forward to your updates.

  2. Will be there tomorrow for Pole Day. I just hope the rain stays away.

  3. George, be careful with all of that eating. These weekends at Indy can pop out more calories than Thanksgiving. Oh, what the hell, GO FOR IT!!!! I can’t wait to get up there and go to Dawson’s as well as getting a tenderloin at the track as well as a couple of brats and a shot of whiskey!!!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 104 other followers

