It’s Fast Friday At IMS!

GeoThumbnail
After a very satisfying breakfast at Charlie Brown’s with my good friend “MadTad1”, we headed over to the track. The problem was the gates didn’t open until 10:00, so I had to sit and wait. It was torture since I was hearing cars out on the track. As it turned out, the cars I heard were the two-seaters giving rides. Still, it’s hard to sit and listen but not watch.

This place has a definite buzz this morning. It’s much more palpable today than it was on Opening Day. it’s also much warmer. The current temperature is 73 and is supposed to reach 77, but I think it might get warmer. It’s also very muggy. We’ll see how that affects the cars today.

It’s my understanding that all cars now have their qualifying engines and they’ll be running the higher boost. It’ll be interesting to see what kind of speeds we get.

As I type, a press conference hosted by Bob Jenkins has started here in the Media Center with Team Penske. My traditional seat here in the Media Center is on the end of my row. I realized a crowd was gathering next to me as I typed. imagine my surprise when IO looked up to see Rick Mears, Helio Castroneves, Will Power, AJ Allmendinger and Tim Cindric standing right next to me. Needless to say, I stopped typing so I could listen in. There was no scoop except for Allmendinger saying what he had for breakfast. After the press conference got going, I figured it was worth my while to snap this picture that contains a four-time winner and a three-time winner. Pretty heady company…

Penske Press Conf
I’m now going to head out. There is currently no track activity. The track doesn’t open for practice until noon, which is about an hour and ten minutes from now. So I plan on heading to the garage area. Something tells me there will be a flurry of activity going on there. I will be posting here throughout the day (and weekend), but you can also follow me on Twitter at @Oilpressureblog to get more spontaneous tweets and pictures. It’s great to be at IMS in May!

George Phillips

5 Responses to “It’s Fast Friday At IMS!”

  1. Well, what did Dinger eat for breakfast?!

  2. By the way, I am glad to hear that Bob Jenkins is still around Indy. There is nobody better to host a presentation at IMS than Bob.

  3. George – Any indication who will be driving the Pace Car this year?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 105 other followers

