Normalcy Will Prevail

geothumbnail
Different people deal with tragic events in different ways. That doesn’t mean that one person cares less than another – they just deal with things differently. After the events that unfolded at the finish line of the Boston Marathon on Monday, many people took to social media to express their shock, their anger and their sympathy. If that’s what helps some people cope with the emotions they’re feeling – that’s fine. Personally, that’s not how I deal with things. That’s fine too.

The way I deal with grief and tragic events is through humor. Consequently, it is my tendency to crack jokes at a funeral home. Some appreciate that trait in me, but there are many, many that don’t. I always try to think how I would want people behaving if it were my visitation and I was the one lying in the casket. I wouldn’t want people wallowing in grief and being filled with mournful sorrow. Instead, I would want the people there to have fun telling old stories about me and to be uplifted. That is not the prevailing sentiment in today’s society.

Those that follow me on Twitter probably didn’t even notice that I did not post a single tweet on Monday or Tuesday. I knew better. So I stayed quiet. That didn’t mean I wasn’t checking Twitter and following what was going on. I was, because Twitter has proven to be a valuable and instant news source – you just have to realize that not everything is exactly correct.

Late Monday afternoon and Monday evening, I was checking Twitter very regularly for up to the minute news. There were the expected “Pray for Boston” tweets along with “Tonight, we are all Boston”. There were also the justified tweets from people that were outraged by the sloppy reporting from supposedly credible mainstream journalists out there.

Then there was the occasional tweet from someone who would try to lift the mood with a lighthearted joke, only to be slammed by those who apparently consider themselves the Twitter Police. Just because some people seemingly tweet an average of one hundred times a day, does not give them the right to tell people that now is not the time for humor. I’m not sure that these people have the right to dictate morality and force people into what they consider the only way to grieve, but I digress.

Whatever the case, time marches forward and doesn’t stop for anyone. Surely the families directly affected in Monday’s bombing will never be the same. But what about the rest of us? Our lives will and should move on. To not move on will give a victory to whoever did this. There should and will be an IndyCar race this weekend at Long Beach and a NASCAR race at Kansas, but with extra precautions taken. There should also be a full baseball schedule along with the NBA and the NHL, but also with extra precautions taken.

Unfortunately, we are starting to become numb to actions like what transpired on Monday. We shouldn’t. We should learn from each one of these events and do our best to minimize the chances of them happening again. You can never make everything completely safe, but we cannot live in constant fear and allow events like these to keep us from living our lives.

I will admit that every year that I have attended the Indianapolis 500 since 9/11, the thought runs through my head that it could be a major target for terrorism. I’m sure I’m not the only one to have thought that. But I also have faith that the experts are taking the necessary precautions to prevent anything from happening.

Since 9/11, I’ve also noticed while going to NFL games that the security has become a little more relaxed each year. At Titans games, they quickly glance in Susan’s purse and supposedly pat me down; but it is so non-violating that it wouldn’t be too tough to sneak a device in, if I chose to do so. I hate to say it, but security at IMS is even less threatening than an NFL game.

But whether or not they have done everything humanly possible to prevent an attack at a racetrack, football or baseball stadium or an indoor arena – I’m not going to stay at home out of fear. I may be more diligent and scope out exits whenever I get to my seats in case something did happen, but they are not going to keep me home. If we don’t resume living a normal life in short order, then whoever did this gets to claim a certain measure of victory. I hate to give them that satisfaction.

George Phillips

10 Responses to “Normalcy Will Prevail”

  1. Bent Wickerbill Says:

    Exactly right George….

  2. Well, I feel as safe as ever, but if I do see anything suspicious at Indianapolis I plan on telling the nearest Yellow Shirt about it. Pronto.

  3. The Lapper Says:

    If I don’t feel safe then I don’t go. Simple as that. See you at Indy!

  4. I am more worried about the IRS reading my email or not being allowed to buy the medical insurance I want than I am about terrorism.

    But you have to be reallistic. IMS can’t search every car that comes into the infield. How do you stop people with evil intent? We cannot do it by taking away our liberties. As long as there is evil, the risk will always be there.

  5. dzgroundedeffects Says:

    I also find I’m more resilient to events like these when I severely limit my exposure to the amount of ‘news’ video/commentary/images/opinion/sensationalism that so often accompanies these tragedies. I used to want to see everything w my own eyes, now I don’t.

    I haven’t seen the clip of the Louisville kid breaking his leg and don’t really need to. I believe all accounts describing it as horrific. I saw the video of the Boston bombings from 3 different sources. I’m done w it.

    More concerned and aware? Yes.

    Less traumatized for NOT having watched 6 hours of the same 30 seconds of footage on repeat and sensational ‘news’ coverage and so-called experts postulating? Yes.

  6. I don’t get these people that not only have to suffer each month’s “breaking news tragedy”, they also have to tell us how much they have suffered it and how they ‘are one’ with the those affected. Screw Boston!!! I’m still pissed off about the 2004 World Series where Jimmy Fallon danced around Busch Stadium for a movie ending and those a-holes cheated in Super Bowl XXXVI too!!! Screw Boston. I will never be ‘Boston Strong’. Boston can kiss my butt. Hell, I’ll never let my son watch E.T. because Drew Berrymore is in it.

    Whatever.

    Speaking of which, I was never a fan of Dan Wheldon, nor would I ever be, something about him just pissed me off. I didn’t suffer his passing for a nano-second, and when people who knew I was an IndyCar fan asked me if I was, I was indifferent about his life and his passing.

    Greg Moore on the other hand, I still ball like a school girl. Every time.

    So yeah, if they are going to blow up IMS, hopefully it will be during the NASCAR or bicycle races.

    • Really, what did Greg Moore ever do? He had a Forsythe car and never won a championship. That is what he did. Nothing. You and Ashley Judd can weep about “what a promising career he was to have.” Well, boo hoo. No championships and no Indianapolis 500. Oh, Indy lights, big woop and who cares? Go cry.

  7. billytheskink Says:

    Walking back out of the door now…

  8. Ron Ford Says:

    So, we have one guy who hates Boston, Dan Wheldon, and Drew Barrymore, and another guy who hates Greg Moore.

    I think I will just move to the other end of the bar now, or maybe go out and stand in the rain.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 108 other followers

